The Riverside Hotel’s History
In 1889, the new C&O Railroad connected the little town of Friendsville with the outside world. In that same year, the Riverside Hotel was built to accommodate the growing number of travelers and workmen. The business closed in the 1940’s when construction of the Youghiogheny River Lake terminated the rail line. In 2003, the previous owners purchased the rundown property, and spent two years on renovations. The historical character of the hotel has been preserved while adding necessary improvements.
The New Proprietor
In July of 2016, the Hotel was purchased by Kyle Burton. As a graduate from the Adventure Sports Institute at Garrett College in nearby McHenry, he yearned to return to the area after a 4 year absence back home in Baltimore. As soon as he laid eyes on The Riverside, he fell in love with its unique beauty and local energy that followed. Kyle quickly felt right at home. The porch and hammock are perfect for appreciating the river while enjoying a meal, or reading a book. Each room has character and great views of the river or garden, while providing exceptional comfort. While the garden was rich in produce, and the soil was remarkable. Inspired by the endless opportunities the community and home could offer, Kyle decided to dive into not only a wonderful project, but a new, and more rewarding lifestyle.